"Boys in Our Books"…

…we're keeping our name but expanding our offerings!

REVIEW: Out in the Open by A.J. Truman

PersonalizedBannerSara

ABOUT:

Libraries are meant for studying – not sex

College sophomore Ethan Follett never says what’s on his mind and never wants to rock the boat. After a high school social life spent anonymous and alone, things are finally falling into place for him. He’s found a group of friends just as studious as he, and is on track for a promising legal career. Out in the open, things couldn’t be better, but secretly Ethan yearns for some real excitement in his life.

He finds it in cocky fratboy Greg Sanderson, who challenges every rigid, preconceived notion Ethan lives by. Soon, their sparring relationship turns sexual, and these enemies-with-benefits get their freak on all over campus. Yet the more Ethan comes out of his shell, the more Greg retreats into his, working overtime to keep his ladies man public persona intact. As the sex gets hotter, and they get closer to getting caught, one part of their arrangement can’t stay hidden any longer: love.

OUT IN THE OPEN is a M/M new adult romance filled with humor, heart, and hot guys. The book is intended for audiences 18+ as it contains explicit sex and language. It’s perfect for fans of Alexa Land’s First and Forever series and Sara Alva’s SOCIAL SKILLS.

REVIEW:

I have fallen in love, so in love with these boys. I am normally cautious of grabbing a book by new authors. – not that I don’t love finding new authors but there is this bit of anxiety of “will I like it?” and the whole stepping out of my comfort zone deal. Well, thank goodness I stepped out of mine and met Ethan and Greg, who also do a bit of stepping out of their comfort zones. Would you look at that? It’s like a match made in heaven, or at least a few minutes of heaven. Okay, bad puns over.

I adore stories about college boys exploring their sexuality. The first time for most away from home, being in charge of their lives and getting to do what they want. For Ethan, it’s his chance to be included, to have friends and be something more than the lonely boy from high school. He has a great set of dorm mates who enjoy the refined college life of garden sculptures and a never ending array of ethnic foods to try. Ethan also has his number one crush in this group of friends, Preston, the buttoned-down boy who stirs Ethan’s blood and causes him to freeze up as well. What is a boy to do when you can’t flirt or talk to your crush?

It’s a good thing Ethan has a Con Law class that will take up a lot of his time. You see, Ethan has a goal to be a lawyer and argue at the Supreme Court level.  The professor of this class is the contact he needs, this class is what he needs, he just didn’t realize how much he would learn from it. Being a latecomer has its advantages when the only seat left in the class is right next to Greg, a hot frat boy with a playful streak all the way in the very back of the room. The very back of the room where it’s dark, where no one quite pays attention and where you can… get an education or at least the cliff notes for the test that will be coming up. Oh, goodness I can’t stop with the puns or the smile that is on my face.

Well then… Ethan meets Greg in class. .Ethan’s first impression of Greg is of the slacker fraternity variety. The guy who has everything going for him and has doesn’t’ have to work as hard as Ethan. The boys don’t exactly hit it off, they appear to be opposites and Ethan takes to Greg’s teasing as being mean, so, Ethan is not attracted to Greg. Nope. Not until one day, Ethan sees Greg at the gym;  admires his body both during his workout and *ahem* after in the locker room. When Greg’s manhood is threatened, and he decides to show Ethan how wrong he is, the tables turn and Ethan takes matters into his own hands. From there, these two get ooh so very sexy as they find new ways and new secret places to get one another off.  This becomes a game, or so it seems, between the boys after class; places to be together where they could get caught. It was fun, embarrassing and anxiety filled to be with them every time they found a new spot and my heart ached for both boys. I wanted Ethan not to get attached and get his heart broken, and I wanted Greg to be… well out in the open. Yep, there is that title with meaning. Ugh.

Greg, I have a soft spot for my boys in the closet, and I adored Greg. The bits of himself he lets slip and the way he feels about Ethan just melted me. I mean, two boys watching a movie together should not melt me and yet there I was, sliding off my chair into a puddle of goo at work as I read the smallest detail and I was a goner. Not only did that scene start off hot with something I was hoping would happen I got the emotions that I need when it comes to romance. Oh boy, did I ever. Did I say that I fell in love with these boys? I so did.

I am rambling, I know, it’s what happens when I fall for books, and I just fell so hard for this story and the boys. I loved how they came together; it was hot and super sexy but as they continue, seeing the boys develop feelings and knowing that they are both hiding in different ways just tugged my heart strings and made me hug my Nook. I could not stop reading this and didn’t want to go home and run when I only had 20% left to read. I had to know how it would end and how both boys would come to terms with their relationship. I am sure I am forgetting to say more about the book but to say more would spoil it, and this was so much fun and gooey to spoil it for anyone.

But I do have to say, one of my favorite things in romance novels is the first kiss, it has been a favorite since I began reading romance novels some twenty plus years ago and let me tell you; the first kiss with Ethan and Greg made me groan at my desk and have people ask if I was okay. Nope, I was not okay, I was goo. Total and complete goo and if you know me, goo is good.

Out in the Open was a fun, sexy, hilarious (the things that come out of Ethan’s mouth, *giggle* I have a whole slew of them highlighted), heartwarming and romantic tale of two boys who find one another and get the best education ever; the education of friendship, acceptance and love – oh the love., Okay, I am melting again thinking about the boys and nicknames and libraries and drunk photo shoots and… I am done.

 

RATING: 4.5 STARS

OitPBOOK INFO:

Title: Out in the Open
Author: A.J. Truman
Publisher: Self-Published
Pages: 244 
Release Date: September 30, 2014
Purchase Links: Amazon

About Sara

I'm a runner, a reader and a vegan food eater. I practice yoga and meditation. I live in a house full of boys and rescue dogs. I really need a vacation.

One comment on “REVIEW: Out in the Open by A.J. Truman

  1. Marlobo
    October 5, 2014

    Everything looks enticing, but “that” kiss? I want to read about it *sigh*.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2014 by in Contemporary, Reviewer: Sara and tagged , , , .

Follow Us On Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

Archives

%d bloggers like this: